On Coffee, Snowflakes and Sunshine.

Monday morning arrived before I’d had the chance to re-fill the oxygen tank for the impending week of stifling office work. Having made my body and mind not only used to, but dependent on a cold, clear 4000′ mountain climb every weekend this winter, a squeezed in walk in Lynn woods, (although nice) did not come anywhere close  to topping up the oxygen supply, or the adrenalin pump. I felt totally grey inside.

 I hit the snooze button three times, took an extra long, extra hot shower. Downed a large cafe au lait with an extra shot of espresso: today I needed every bit of help I could get. Walking to the train it felt like someone had put lead in my shoes; I was as slow as a sleepy sloth.

Then, a snowflake fell…  a single snowflake, drifting through the cold air… distracting me with its magic. I followed its dance and imagined it a faraway friend who’d drifted on down to brighten my day. I smiled and brought him along, my steps a little lighter than before. When I looked up to see where he came from, a blinding ray of sun penetrated the dull, grey cover, adding a shimmering silver lining to the cloud that had sent me my beautiful snowflake.

The grey gave way to bright, blue skies…

This entry was posted in Thoughts and Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Coffee, Snowflakes and Sunshine.

  1. Travis says:

    absolutely beautiful writing, and now a spring in my step having been fed the words and let them become part of my thoughts… 🙂

  2. Lo says:

    Words are as free as snowflakes : they go around the world to feed a certain kind of spirit… I will think of you when the first snowflake of winter will reach the Bordeaux vineyards. LOve you sister !

Leave a Reply

